Are you gluten free? Here are a few gluten free Hanukkah recipes to try.

Gluten Free Hanukkah Recipes

Sharing is caring!

I want Squeaker to know about other cultures and religions aside from her own. Now, while her ethnic background is quite diverse (she’s Japanese, Filipino, Polish.. and a host of additional European background) and I have some idea of how to introduce those cultures (like with our mini tot school Poland unit); religion is another issue. I am raising her as a Christian because that’s what we are. However, I also want her to be aware of other religions and as a Christian, I think that learning about Judaism will go a long way.

While we won’t celebrate all of the Jewish holy days, we will definitely study them and celebrate them a little bit. We’ll probably start with Hanukkah because it’s close enough to Christmas that I can incorporate it into the busy holiday season. One way we’ll celebrate is with food, because food is just universal in terms of celebrations don’t you think? In my quest for recipes, I’ve come across some gluten free Hanukkah recipes that we’ll try this year.

Are you looking for gluten free Hanukkah recipes? I'm sharing two on the blog today!

Also, before I potentially offend anyone, I was in a bind as to how to spell this. I’ve seen it spelled as Chanukah, Chanukkah, Hanukah, and Hanukkah. As I was just typing out that previous sentence, all but Hanukkah auto-corrected. However, I looked it up to see and the other variations are also accepted as well.

Moving on.

Hanukkah is celebrated each year beginning on Kislev 25. This date normally occurs during the month of December on the Gregorian calendar. This year, Hanukkah is December 24th through January 1st. These recipes can easily be adapted for those who have concerns about gluten in their diet.

In need of a gluten free Hanukkah recipe? Try this one for traditional latkes.

Gluten Free Hanukkah Recipes to Try

Potato latkes are a staple when celebrating Hanukkah. Normally, they would be made with matzo meal or flour. Substitute potato starch or gluten-free flour such as rice flour if you need to adjust the recipe. There should be no difference in the taste or texture if you make this substitution.

Can you have latkes without applesauce?

Well, you can, but who would want to?

Applesauce from the store would suffice, but to add even more wonderful flavor to your hot, fresh latkes, try making homemade applesauce instead. Yes, it will take a little bit of time and effort, but the results will be well worth the time. Your family will love spooning the warm applesauce over their piping hot latkes. Of course, applesauce is already gluten-free so this addition will not be a concern.

Fresh Hanukkah Donuts in the market

Sufganiyot (jelly doughnuts) are also a traditional Hanukkah food almost as popular as latkes. When making sufganiyot without gluten, it is important to use a mixture of gluten-free flours. This mixture will be perfect for the recipe:

3 cups of white rice flour
3 cups of brown rice flour
2 cups of potato starch (be sure NOT to use potato flour)
1 cup of tapioca starch

Combine and use the recommended amount for the recipe you choose.

You’ll also want to include either xanthan gum or guar gum in the recipe if using non-gluten flour. Look for gluten-free flours that are already pre-mixed if you do not want to mix your own recipe and if cost is a consideration.

Perhaps you feel you aren’t very handy in the kitchen.

This doesn’t mean you have to forego Hanukkah. Look through the gluten-free section of your grocery store. They may not have traditional Hanukkah foods (no manufacturer makes latkes and sells them), but that doesn’t mean you can’t make substitutions.

The foods of Hanukkah are symbolic of the struggle for freedom and returning the Temple in Jerusalem back to its proper use of worshiping God. While you will want to fry at least some foods during this eight day celebration, there’s no reason you can’t celebrate in a way that honors the idea behind the holiday and yet maintain your dietary requirements.

Look for gluten free Hanukkah foods online if you don’t have the time or inclination to make them yourself.

However, if you want to tackle making traditional Hanukkah foods, there are ways you can do that. It may take a little bit of time to search for just the right recipe, but you will be glad that you can still celebrate and enjoy gluten free Hanukkah recipes for years to come.

Are you gluten free? Here are a few gluten free Hanukkah recipes to try.

The following two tabs change content below.

Kori

Content Creator at Kori at Home
Kori is an autistic mom who also happens to have ADHD and Anxiety. She is currently located in Albany, NY where she is raising a neurodivergent family. Her older daughter is non-speaking autistic (and also has ADHD and Anxiety) and her youngest daughter is HSP/Gifted. As an empath, HSP, and highly intuitive individual, Kori brings her own life experiences as an autistic woman combined with her adventures in momming to bring you the day-to-day of her life at home. Kori provides life coaching services for neurodivergent women (and those who identify as women) as well as Oracle card reading, Tarot card readings, and energy healing.

Latest posts by Kori (see all)

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
Scroll to Top