Albany NY Mom Blogger 2

Albany NY Mom Blogger

Sharing is caring!

Welcome to Kori at Home!

I’m Kori- Albany, NY mom, blogger and owner of Kori at Home (formerly Just Another Mom). This is an autism parenting blog for parents of autistic children.

Kori at Home seeks to serve, nurture, encourage, empower, and support moms in all stages. In particular, stay at home moms who have lost their identity in being a mom. While there is absolutely nothing wrong with embracing motherhood, we (as women), should be confident in our own identity.

Albany NY Mom, Kori, is the content creator and social media influencer behind Kori at Home.

The Purpose of Kori at Home

Kori at Home seeks to help overwhelmed moms reduce the overwhelm of motherhood and reclaim the joy in life. We are embracing this life, one imperfect step at a time. Whether that’s by providing health + fitness tips for the busy mom, encouragement for special needs parents, or resources to help relieve the stress of everyday parenting; Kori at Home is here to help.

Together we can create a content life and home.

My Start Here page will really give you a better overview of the blog, so let’s move along.

About Me and My Family

One question that I do get asked is if Kori is short for anything. And no, it’s not. Kori is my full first name. I believe that my mom named me after a friend of hers, or at least was inspired by a friend of hers to use that particular name. When I was younger, sometimes I wish my name had been different but I couldn’t really think of a different one that I liked.

As a child I was:

  • Strong willed
  • Highly sensitive
  • Empathetic
  • Curious
  • Imaginative
  • a bit of a day dreamer

As an adult I am:

  • A caregiver and nurturer
  • The realist who lives next door (though not always literally)
  • A teacher (though not by degree) and researcher

I want to be an advocate for those most in need, a mentor to those looking to find their voice, and build a community that’s accepting to all.

I’m a work at home mom looking to build up my online business empire. With three children of my own (two with special needs), I draw from personal experiences and past work experience as a former assistant PreK teacher.

I had once desired to pursue a career in Developmental Psychology or Communications, but when I was drawn into the world of blogging; I began to realize that I could accomplish my goals and purpose online. I also realized that I could reach more people while still being able to cultivate relationships locally if I so desired.

My goals and path remain mostly the same: to nurture and encourage overwhelmed moms. To accomplish this, I continue to write for my blog, plan future books and eBooks, and obtain certifications in related coach training.

When I’m not working on an aspect of my business, I enjoy spending time with my family, singing with my church choir, watching Jeopardy, historical documentaries, and crime documentaries.‚Äč

all about kori

I was born in New Orleans, Louisiana and eventually ended up in Albany, New York.

And though I couldn’t truly appreciate living in Albany until I was a little bit older and became a parent, I do enjoy living here. We’re not very far from New York City, Boston, or Montreal and it’s really hard to beat all of the amazing seasonal things that occur in and around the greater Capital District.

Sure, it’s not as exciting as living near Orlando or Los Angeles and maybe it’s not quite as cultured as San Francisco or Washington D.C., but it’s home.

I share my home, and my life, with my other half- Kyle. And one of these days I’ll get around to sharing our story, because I think it’s worthy of sharing. Maybe on Valentine’s Day or at least close to it, because that would seem appropriate and fitting to me.

Other important figures in my immediate life are my three children- V (19 year old boy with Ataxic Cerebral Palsy- which really isn’t as bad it sounds), Sweet B (my non-verbal 16 year old girl with classic/severe autism), and Squeaker (my baby girl who will be turning 5 in December). On weekends, we also have Kyle’s two boys, T & J, with us. Our house isn’t too full though as Sweet B is with her dad on the weekends, and V lives with my mom (another story that I’ll have to get into).

I think that’s pretty much me in a nutshell!

Random Things about Kori

My hobbies: crafts, cooking, baking, reading, and music. Kind of generic? Well yes, I suppose but I do enjoy these things.

I highly enjoy swimming and find it very relaxing.

Or maybe you’d like to know that my favorite Disney characters are Eeyore, Dumbo, and Belle. I can tell you that one of my favorite authors is Jane Austen and that one of my favorite books is The Secret Garden.

I could also tell you that I enjoy listening to almost all genres of music. I can also tell you that one of my biggest pet peeves is bad grammar and spelling- quite possibly the lone reason I would never want to be an English teacher; even though English and Literature were among my best subjects.

I’ll also let you know that I’m a bit of a perfectionist and a border line control freak.

What can I offer you?

Aside from following along in my entrepreneurial journey as a work at home (and soon to be homeschooling) mom? I will be obtaining my certification to become a Baby Sign Time instructor. Other future goals include becoming a certified life coach with specialties in parenting/family, ADHD, and health/wellness.

In the meantime, I would encourage you to reach out and talk. I’m always open for a healthy discussion.

Are you a brand, business, or PR rep? Great! I cannot wait to talk to you.

Contact Me

A simple form to contact me for any purpose
  • First name please, last name optional
  • Best email address to reply to your inquiry.
  • If you have a website, what is it?
  • If you are a brand, brand representative, or public relations representative, will you need a copy of my media kit with my reply?
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

 

 

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
Scroll to Top